DCMA Section 508 Program

DCMA Section 508

The Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA) is committed to making its information and communication technology accessible to individuals with disabilities by meeting or exceeding the requirements of Section 508. Our comprehensive approach to Section 508 compliance ensures Individuals with disabilities have access which is comparable to those who do not have disabilities, and our commitment to accessibility includes content and online services provided through this website.

We include Section 508 standards and requirements in our procurement processes, development, implementation and maintenance processes, and provide technical guidance, tool, and resources to assist with Section 508 compliance throughout the agency. In addition, we provide training to employees on the Section 508 standards, and how to develop and buy accessible technology. DCMA has a dedicated Compliance and Remediation team that conducts audits and provides remediation services or provides remediation recommendations to ensure all agency information and communication technology (ICT) is accessible and usable by all employees.

If you have comments and/or questions related to DCMA’s Section 508 program or if you believe that the ICT used by DCMA does not comply with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, you may file a Section 508 complaint by contacting the DCMA Section 508 Program Office.

If you would like to file a formal DCMA Section 508-related complaint, please send an e-mail to the DCMA Office of Civil Rights and Civil Liberties.

DCMA Section 508 Program Office Strives to:

  • Ensure personnel with disabilities have access to and use of information and data that is comparable to those who do not have disabilities.
  • Ensure DCMA websites, applications, and systems are in compliance with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 and ICT Revised 508 Standards and 255 Guidelines.
  • Ensure all Web Applications, Software Development, and Legacy Systems are accessible from any locations to users with a disability.
  • Provide an enterprise-wide solution for checking websites and Section 508 standards for compliance. 
  • Provide an enterprise-wide tracking system for Coordinators and the Section 508 team to track incidents, complaints, and assistance request.

DCMA Section 508 Program Mission:

It is our responsibility to ensure Section 508 compliance is engrained in DCMA culture and be an integral part in how DCMA conducts business. All DCMA Users should take proactive steps in becoming knowledgeable about Section 508.

Section 508 Overview:

In 1998, Congress amended the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 to require Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology (EIT) accessible to people with disabilities. The law (29 U.S.C § 794 (d)) applies to all Federal agencies when they develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology. Under Section 508, agencies must give people with disabilities and members of the public access to information technology comparable to the access available to others. Section 508 was enacted to eliminate barriers in information technology, open new opportunities for individuals with disabilities, and encourage development of technologies that will help achieve these goals. More information on Section 508 and the technical standards can be found at www.section508.gov.

Section 508 Refresh:

On January 18, 2017, the Access Board published a final rule that jointly updates requirements for information and technology covered by Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act and Section 255 of the Communication Act. The Section 255 Guidelines address access to telecommunications products and services and apply to manufacturers of telecommunication equipment.

These Revised 508 Standards, which consist of 508 Chapters 1 and 2 (Appendix A), along with Chapters 3 through 7 (Appendix C), contain scoping and technical requirements for information and communication technology (ICT). ICT includes information technology and other equipment, systems, technologies, or processes, for which the principal function is the creation, manipulation, storage, display, receipt, or transmission of electronic data and information, as well as any associated content.

Summary of Section 508 Technical Standards

The standards provide criteria specific to various types of technologies, including:

  • Computers and peripheral equipment
  • Information Kiosks and Transaction Machines
  • Telecommunications Equipment
  • Customer Premises Equipment
  • Multifunction Office Machines
  • Software
  • Applications
  • Websites
  • Video and Multimedia
  • Electronic Documents

DCMA Section 508 Processes

It is DCMA’s goal to include Section 508 standards and requirements in our processes, including how we:


  • Acquire goods and services
  • Conduct market research
  • Create solicitations
  • Evaluate and validate contractor Section 508 compliance claims
  • Decide to make purchase awards to contractors

Develop and Maintain

  • Design using standards based on universal design principles
  • Develop technology using accessibility coding best practices
  • Perform Section 508 compliance testing using automated tools, code reviews, and manual user testing with assistive technologies
  • Maintain accessibility of DCMA ICT with continuous monitoring


  • Provide technical guidance, tools and resources to assist with Section 508 compliance throughout the agency
  • Provide training to employees on the Section 508 standards, and how to develop and buy accessible technology
  • Conduct communications and awareness initiatives throughout the agency. 

Contact Us

Antonio Boston
DCMA Section 508 Coordinator

For further information, questions, or comments related to Section 508, please contact our DCMA Section 508 Coordinator, Antonio Boston or by emailing the DCMA Section 508 Program Office.